The Invisible Shining - book launch at Trinity College Dublin
15 February, 6-8pm more
We offer a 20% discount until March 15 if you order the book online through NBNi.
Please use the discount code: ABL2018

The 2018 Spring/Summer catalog is available for download.

Latest releases:

Academic Freedom. The Global Challenge
edited by Michael Ignatieff and Stefan Roch

From Central Planning to the Market by Libor Žídek

Coming soon:

Landscapes of Disease - Malaria in Modern Greece
Katerina Gardikas

Nationalism and Terror - Ante Pavelić and Ustasha Terrorism from Fascism to the Cold War
Pino Adriano and Giorgio Cingolani

Search the full text of our books:


Masterpieces of History
The Peaceful End of the Cold War in Europe, 1989

Edited by
Svetlana Savranskaya, Director of Russia/Eurasia Programs at the National Security Archive
Thomas Blanton, Executive Director of the National Security Archive
Vladislav Zubok, Professor of History at Temple University.

With a foreword by Anatoly S. Chernyaev and Jack F. Matlock, Jr.

Winner of the Arthur S. Link-Warren F. Kuehl Prize for Documentary Editing of the The Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations.

Twenty years in the making, this collection presents 122 top-level Soviet, European and American records on the superpowers’ role in the annus mirabilis of 1989. Consisting of Politburo minutes; diary entries from Gorbachev’s senior aide, Anatoly Chernyaev; meeting notes and private communications of Gorbachev with George H.W. Bush, Margaret Thatcher, Helmut Kohl and François Mitterrand; and high-level CIA analyses, this volume offers a rare insider’s look at the historic, world-transforming events that culminated in the collapse of communism in Eastern Europe and the end of the Cold War. Most of these records have never been published before.

Complementing the documents is the inclusion for the first time of the proceedings of an extraordinary face-to-face mutual interrogation (with scholars and documents ) in 1998 of Russian and American senior former officials—Gorbachev advisers Anatoly Chernyaev and Georgy Shakhnazarov, Shevardnadze aide Sergei Tarasenko, U.S. Ambassador Jack Matlock and CIA chief Soviet analyst Douglas MacEachin—aimed at assessing and explaining Moscow and Washington’s policies during the miraculous year of 1989.

Preface and Acknowledgements; Foreword by Anatoly S. Chernyaev; Foreword by Jack F. Matlock, Jr.; Acronyms; Chronology of Events; "The Logic of 1989: The Soviet Peaceful Withdrawal from Eastern Europe,” by Svetlana Savranskaya; "U.S. Policy and the Revolutions of 1989,” by Thomas Blanton; Dialogue: The Musgrove Conference, May 1-3, 1998; 122 previously classified documents from Soviet, European and American archives; Main Actors; Selected Bibliography; Index

"...a treasure trove of the most secret discussions by leaders of the Soviet Union and the West."
John Berry, Newsweek

"When, where, why did the Cold War end? How did it manage to end peacefully? The answers are in this wonderful collection of crucial historical documents, penetrating essays by experts, plus the record of a revealing symposium including former Soviet and American officials. An invaluable source book on the end of the 20th century.”
William C. Taubman, Amherst College, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Khrushchev: The Man and His Era

"Evocative, illuminating, insightful: This volume is a brilliant collection of documents, conver-sations, and essays. It is absolutely indispensable for understanding the end of the Cold War.”
Melvyn Leffler, University of Virginia, G.L. Beer Prize-winning author of For the Soul of Mankind

"The National Security Archive … deserves the highest praise for its dedication to work and truth, and for overcoming numerous obstacles created by bureaucrats and other excessively cowardly and greedy custodians of the truth about the past.” (From the Foreword)
Anatoly S. Chernyaev, adviser to Mikhail Gorbachev, author of My Six Years with Gorbachev

"The conference held at … Musgrove [included in this volume] … illuminated one of the most important periods in 20th century history … The National Security Archive [has] rendered a service to historians and the public as a whole.” (From the Foreword)
Jack F. Matlock Jr., Former U.S. Ambassador to the Soviet Union and to Czechoslovakia, author of Autopsy on an Empire

"The end of the Cold War, among the most important events in recent history, continues to shape international relations. The authors of Masterpieces of History: The Peaceful End of the Cold War in Europe, 1989 attempt to provide a profound and objective framework for discussion and research on this highly significant period.
Aan essential reading for everyone who is interested in the late Cold War period. It contains an enormous amount of first-hand information, scrupulously collected for 15 years, in one compact volume, conveniently placed, translated and numbered. Besides the valuable archival sources, it provides some useful theoretical and analytical insight, marking possible directions for the further research on the period". - Central European Journal of International and Security Studies

This is the sixth volume in the series National Security Archive Cold War Readers, editor: Malcolm Byrne ISSN 1587-2416

The series, edited by Malcolm Byrne, explores key episodes in the Cold War based on the latest archival documentation from the former Soviet bloc and newly declassified Western sources. Edited and introduced by scholars affiliated with the National Security Archive’s “Openness in Russia and Eastern Europe Project,” the series represents a truly multinational approach to Cold War history. Funding for the Openness Project has been provided by the Open Society Institute, the John D. & Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, the Carnegie Corporation of New York, and the German Marshall Fund of the United States. The series has been produced in cooperation with the Cold War International History Project at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, D.C.

774 pages
ISBN 978-963-9776-77-7cloth $75.00 / €55.00 / £50.00

2011 paperback
ISBN 978-615-5053-40-5 $40.00 / €35.00 / £30.00